Digital Sharing as a Lifestyle

I often take for granted the level to which I use technology. I confess, I check twitter and Facebook at least five times a day…on work days. I check them more on weekends. I have a YouTube account that I use not to publish video, but to be able to follow new videos that other’s publish (mostly my favorite gamers in StarCraft II). I take for granted the access I have to all of this media and the connection I have created with all of my followers and the people I follow. Sure, most of them don’t know me personally, but I interact with them on a near daily basis – more often than I interact with some of my closest friends.

Many of the colleagues I work with daily do not have a twitter account. For those that do, we have established a less formal way to communicate mostly professional ideas. It is a quick way to share links, thoughts, or just have a conversation. Colleagues that I do not see everyday, like former college classmates, former co-workers, and teachers from other schools, often post things regarding their experiences or comment on things that I post. Education can be a very solitary field. Even though we work with hundreds of students daily we are often left on our own by our peers. digital sharing via twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, etc. enables this connectivity.

The largest way, professionally, that digital sharing has impacted my life is its availability. The discussions are great, don’t get me wrong. However, the fact that I am able to have these discussions, at any time, with people all over the world, who are facing the exact same issues that I am dealing with or seeing the exact same results I am celebrating have supported me and continue to motivate me as I work through my first years in a classroom.

Leave a comment